Nine Lives of Travis Keating

The Nine Lives of Travis Keating


Click here for purchase options.

The Nine Lives of Travis Keating

Fitzhenry & Whiteside 2008 ISBN: 978-1-55455-104-0

The Nine Lives of Travis Keating

Fitzhenry & Whiteside 2008 ISBN: 978-1-55455-153-8

The cover on the left was the original cover at first publication. The one on the right was designed in 2009 just before the sequel, The Present Tense of Prinny Murphy, came out. The publisher wanted the two covers to match.

Which cover do you prefer?

About the Book:

Travis Keating, eleven-going-on-twelve, moves with his widowed father from St. John’s Newfoundland to a small community in northern Newfoundland called Ratchet. On his first day at school, the local bully, Hud Quinn, stops the other kids from making friends with Travis. Nor can Travis join the hockey team, because the Zamboni isn’t working. Left to his own devices, he discovers a colony of abandoned cats at Gulley Cove, a place he’s been forbidden to go.

How many of his nine lives will he use up as he struggles to look after the cats?

Nine Lives is a story about learning to find friends and discovering your own courage in unexpected places.

Read an excerpt from the book

Play the Video to hear Jill talk about the book.


“This beautifully written story left me wanting more….Jill MacLean’s attention to each character’s development is extremely well done…The use of local colloquialisms rings true…”

Canadian Children’s Book News, Winter 2009

“Travis is an engaging, dimensional character…readers will recognize many of their own feelings and conflicts in Travis’s story…”

Booklist, November 19, 2008

“…a thought-provoking, entertaining, and entirely satisfying book…MacLean’s dialogue is strong, and her characters have a realistic depth and complexity…MacLean is to be congratulated on a marvelous achievement.”

CM Magazine, Volune XV Number 2



Purchase options for The Nine Lives of Travis Keating:

From Fitzhenry & Whiteside:
Click here for the print version of the book
Click here for the eBook version

From Amazon:

Click here for the Kobo eBook version

Or go to your local independent bookstore.


Be Sociable, Share!
Check out Jill's Blog!
The Hidden Agenda of Sigrid Sugden
Jill MacLean's latest book The Hidden Agenda of Sigrid Sugden , published by Fitzhenry & Whiteside and is available in bookstores and on-line!

This book is the completion of the Newfoundland trilogy which started with The Nine Lives of Travis Keating, followed by The Present Tense of Prinny Murphy.

Pick up your copy today!
Get Jill’s Blog updates

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

School Visits with Jill
View the In-Person Page to learn more about arranging a school visit with Jill.
Nix Minus One

Jill MacLean's book Nix Minus One , published by Pajama Press and now available in bookstores!

Nix Minus One is geared for readers in Grade 7-8 and up.
Published February 15, 2013


Jill MacLean's books on Goodreads

Home Truths
Home Truths

reviews: 34

ratings: 143 (avg rating 4.20)

The Present Tense of Prinny Murphy
The Present Tense of Prinny Murphy

reviews: 14

ratings: 69 (avg rating 4.19)

The Nine Lives of Travis Keating
The Nine Lives of Travis Keating

reviews: 26

ratings: 91 (avg rating 4.16)

Nix Minus One
Nix Minus One

reviews: 6

ratings: 13 (avg rating 4.15)

Brevity of Red, The
Brevity of Red, The

ratings: 1 (avg rating 3.00)